300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FBI 1811 of Secret Service 1811

Hello and thanks for all the information.

I'm a former Border Patrol Agent in my late 20's. I spent 2 years in an Arizona Border town before moving back to pursue an opportunity in the private sector.

Well the financial world is in somewhat of a mess right now and really affecting my job so I am once again gearing up to pursue my dream of 1811.

I have a degree in Political Science with experience in finance, background investigations, and limited law enforcement experience.

I'll be applying to the FBI and also considering the Secret Service. I've ruled out DEA because I don't want to go back down to the border and try and salvage Border Patrol drug cases and get them ready for court. What a mess.

I've found lots of information about the hiring processes on this forum but I was hoping I could get some insight into the differences between FBI and SS, besides the obvious.

Differences in culture? Morale? Management? Complexity of cases? General differences? Does everyone in the SS do some time on protective duties in DC? What's that like?

I apologize for the vague questions but I'd love to hear some thoughts.

They don't like being called the SS

I can't give you any insight, but they don't like being called the "SS", they prefer the USSS.
    "From now until the end of the world, we and it shall be remembered. We few, we Band of Brothers. For he who sheds his blood with me shall be my brother." - William Shakespeare ("King Henry V")

Comment

Why people feel the need to correct ss vs. usss never ceases to amaze... I don't think any of us care! With that said...

Dlaw,

You will find several differences between the two agencies. The FBI is much larger, has a HUGE budget, and has a wide variety of investigations (terrorism, dope, white collar, intell, etc) . While they also journey to GS-13, they are not required to relocate as often as USSS.