300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Degree Choice...

In these tough economic times, I am considering going back to school. I am looking at law school or an MS in Homeland Security. My career goal is in law enforcement. I graduated from the academy as a non-affiliate on 10/31/2008 and I have have many applications in with state and federal agencies but things are moving slow if they are moving at all. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I can't think of any job where a MS in "homeland security" would be of any special value. However, a juris doctorate (JD) is pretty versitile, and could be used within LE or in plenty of other fields. If these are the two advanced degrees you're looking at, if you want one that could actually be an advantage in the job field, go with the JD.
    sigpic

Comment

I attend Fairleigh Dickinson University (I'm doing a mix of online and in person classes) for a MAS (Master's of Administrative Science).

'Master of Administrative Science (MAS) - http://view.fdu.edu/default.aspx?id=74

The Master of Administrative Science degree is a 30 credit program designed to develop critical managerial effectiveness. The degree, designed for working adults who are eager to enhance their educational credentials, consists of courses which improve a student’s administrative as well as analytic and decision making competencies.'

In addition to my MAS I'll have Graduate Certificates in:

Global Security and Terrorism Studies & Law and Public Safety Administration

I started the degree FALL '08 and working thru the Summer I intend to graduate Sept '09 (4 Semesters).

They also have a Homeland Security (MSHS) for those who are interested.

Comment

If you are wondering which degree would benefit you more greatly, then the JD would be the overwhelming choice.