Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

City Cop Wants to be State Police...But which state ?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• City Cop Wants to be State Police...But which state ?

I am an officer in a city with right around 100k people. I have always wanted to work for a state police agency. I tried to hire on with GSP before landing my current municipal police job. Unfortunately it wasnt meant to be at that time. That was a little over a year ago. So time goes by and im content with my current agency. I recently started getting the itch to try for a state police job once again. Georgia has had a hiring freeze on for a while , and its unknown when that will be lifted. So i decided not to limit myself to just GSP and look at some other state agencies. My question to you guys is : What state police agencies have good reputations, good equipment and treat their officers good?
    One of the main reasons i wanna go state is because 1. I like working traffic 2. The training the state patrol receives in GA is FAAAR superior to any training Ive received being a city officer. 3. They seem to hold themselves to a higher standard of professionalism than other city and county agencies ( no offense to any officers, just my opinion )
    Some state police agencies are falling apart with budget restrictions and outdated equipment it seems. What agencies are worth applying to? Id be willing to relocate anywhere in the country, but GA FL and AL are the closest and most preferred . Thanks in advance

Around here the Troopers get the same training we get, you just live there.
    The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, cannot and will not ever harm the sheep. Any sheepdog who intentionally harms the lowliest little lamb will be punished and removed.

I Am the Sheepdog.