300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to Get the Ball Rolling

Hello. New member here. I am currently active duty Navy for the past 7 1/2 years. An excellent service record, my honorable discharge will be this December.

I've been following leads on USAjobs, RecruitMilitary, FBIjobs, ad nauseum and am looking to finally make the leap into law enforcement and stop leaving the country for weeks to months at a time.

Can someone please link a thread on this website (I'm sure there is one, but in my search, I haven't found "the one") on how to start applying? I really enjoy reading some of the posts here, especially on the "Rookie Corner".

I'm sure I'll have more questions, but I've already found a few answers in my searches.

I've been doing law enforcement applications for the past 3 years. It is a long and arduous process, but you must stay diligent!

I recommend checking in with your local PD's where you plan on residing. Go on ride-alongs and learn about the department and how they do things. This will also give you talking points in the oral interview.

Biggest thing is don't quit looking. Sometimes you don't get in on your first application. I've done 5 applications at 4 departments and it looks like i'm finally getting on.

Best of luck to you in your search. Welcome to O.com. There is a wealth of knowledge here that will make you laugh, cry, ponder and may someday save your life.

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I'm currently trying to have my Secret security clearance upgraded to Top Secret before I get out (I'm trying a rate conversion that requires a TS). Will this help me at all?

Comment

It might speed things up, which is nice.

From what I understand (which isn't much) the DOD clearance may or may not be transferred to other departments. I know for instance, a clearance from the Department of Commerce would not transfer to DOD.