300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I a competitive applicant?

Hello everyone. I've been a reader of Officer.com and the forums for a long while, but this is my first time posting. I wanted to get some opinions on my chances for being hired.

I got an interview for the TVA Police, but I'm feeling sort of intimidated at the prospect of other applicants being sworn officers for multiple years. I'm a fresh college graduate and I have no police or security experience. However, my grades are near perfect (3.9 GPA out of 4.0), member of several honor societies, 4.0 GPA in criminal justice minor, and other academic honors. I'm confident that I'm very strong academically, but will the lack of experience rule me out in favor of experienced officers?

Just for your information, the minimum qualifications are a 4-year degree, or a two-year degree with two years of experience as a police officer, or just six years experience as a police officer. What are your opinions on my prospects?

Question....

PM Sent....

Comment

How "competitive" you'll be in this mix of applicants has a ton to do with what a particular agency values, at that particular time, with that particular administration.

From a strict economic standpoint, many (but not all) agencies will take experienced, clean lateral transfers as first-pick, as they're the cheapest to train, and have a track-record of previous success and affinity for the profession. Some agencies still operate in the, "we like 'em fresh so we can train 'em 'our way'" mode, but this seems to have become more rare over the years.