Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which department to choose? First post!

Good evening,
    I am currently a university student majoring in education in Long Island. The question I have for the officer.com community is a bit generalized and broad, so, as this is my first post here I would like to give you an overview of myself in order to better base your opinions.

As stated in the aforementioned, I am a Bachelor's degree seeking student in the field of education and will be a certified K-12 teacher in four semesters. I am studying as a full time student in Long Island at Hofstra University while holding 25 hours a week part time as a waiter. I have been in the restaurant industry since I was fourteen years of age and like to think I possess the work ethic to go along with that! Aside from the field of academia, I am a licensed private pilot (Fixed wing) and am also a performing classical musician.

That being said - with college I have learned that I do love education, though strongly feel that I could be of a better help to a community outside of the classroom. This is where I find my main impetus behind my desire to enter law enforcement.

My main question to you folks though is this. I plan to not remain in New York once my degree has been completed. I am currently looking at departments on the west coast and a few down south. Could anyone comment on the hiring situation of the various departments in California? Oregon? Washington? Texas? Florida? Assuming I am able to pass the tests how well would I bode as candidate for hire in these departments?

What I am really looking for is a strong sense of camaraderie within the department, great training in the academy, and maybe some newer technology to utilize in the field.