300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on applying...

I am currently filling out the Secret Service app and when it asks about your past criminal history I am not sure what to put. When I was a freshman in college I was charged with being in a liquor store under 21. I was not trying to buy as I was with someone who was 21 and he was not trying to buy from me. Apparently in Delaware you cannot enter a liquor store if you are under 21, which is different than where I am from (NJ) where you can be in the store as long as you are not trying to buy anything. Anyway so I wasn't arrested or anything but I was given a summons for it and was given probation before judgement. The judge told me if I stayed trouble free for 2 years that everything would be wiped from my record. Now I did this successfully and went to court 2 years later and payed the fee and was told that it was completely wiped. Now my question is if I have to put any of this on my application? Anyone know?

Oh and the penalty for the probation before judgement if I did not stay clean was just to have it stay on my record... not go to jail or anything

Comment

Thanks for the response up on base.. would my probation before judgement have to be listed as yes i've been on probation? I called the police department that all of this was through and they said they didn't know the answer.

Comment

It would be in your best interest to list EVERYTHING including things you are unsure about. During your initial, the Boss will ask you about it and you can be more elaborate. Its best for you to list it than for them to ask you months down the road in the BI. Notice I said "months".

Comment

No Biggie

Originally posted by Up_On_Base
          When filling out any document for background, list it all upfront.

Your charge is not a big deal. Trust me, most federal agents were not all choir boys. What is expected is you tell everything and the truth.

Good luck