300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ohio to FLORIDA transfer

I am a Ohio Cop with about 15 years in the Ohio Public Employee Ret System Law Enforcement OHPERSLE. I am interested in relocating to North Florida. I was wondering if anyone out there has made the switch and can advise how much of my time will transfer to the Florida Public Ret system, whatever it is called?
    I know that I will most likely have to take a pay cut from my nealy 60k base salary, but I do not want to start over on my 25 years towards retirement.
    I have also heard, from not reliable sources, that the Florida Ret system is not a very good one?
    Any thoughts, opinions, or experiences are welcome.

There are no states that I'm aware of that give credit towards another state's retirement requirement.

Comment

I have heard texas does but I am not sure how it works. I think we hijacked the thread sry.

Comment

Yea you're retirement will likely NOT transfer with you. The idea behind a state retirement system is that the money you put into your pension/retirement every month, is used by the state to invest. Those investments have a return on them that is usually x% points. That returned $$ is used to help pay for current and future pensions. The money you put into retirement every month would never equate the actual amount of money you receive, once you retire.

With that being said, no state is going to give you "time", because in your case, they have not had the past 15 years to invest your pension money and receive a return to help pay for your retirement. You would basically be getting a full retirement on half the amount paid into it (if you were given credit for Ohio time). Military guys do often times have the option to "buy back" their military time to make their retirement shorter by a few years. But in this option, they actually PAY to retire a few years earlier.