Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice Please.

Hi,
    I've been wanting to get into law enforcement since I graduated high school, but been afraid to not qualify because of my juvenile record. I have a battery charge (guilty/judicial warning) and a reckless driving (adjudication withheld) both seven years ago. The plus is I have an AA in criminal Justice and 36 credits left to go for my BS. I would self sponser myself into the acadamy, but is it worth it. Please let me know what you think I should do, if maybe I should just think about another career path. Thank you.

Originally posted by garcia.012 View Post
    Hi,
    I've been wanting to get into law enforcement since I graduated high school, but been afraid to not qualify because of my juvenile record. I have a battery charge (guilty/judicial warning) and a reckless driving (adjudication withheld) both seven years ago. The plus is I have an AA in criminal Justice and 36 credits left to go for my BS. I would self sponser myself into the acadamy, but is it worth it. Please let me know what you think I should do, if maybe I should just think about another career path. Thank you.
    Apply...and see what happens.

Care to work the southwest border? US Border Patrol is currently hiring like mad. Apply to them, go through the pre-hiring steps and see how the chips fall.

Comment

I don't see it as a show stopper, especially if you finish your degree.

Comment

Hi,
        The battery charge and reckless driving is not good for you but what you have going is it was seven years ago. I think you should give it a shot. When the time comes for the Background Investigation you need to clearly demonstrate how you have changed. Like Merlin said I would look into the Border Patrol.

Comment