300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Federal 1811/Special Agent positions

I have a question for the 1811s on the forum...

I'm a somewhat recent college grad and a police applicant for a few local departments in the DC area. As someone who would eventually like to become a special agent with the Fed. Gov., I've looked at the qualifications for many agencies, and most of them seem to want:

A higher level graduate degree (Master's, Law, etc.)
    or
    One year of specialized experience

If I decided not to pursue an advanced degree in the future, what is the best way to achieve an 1811 position? Would I be wrong to assume that I should work hard for a local PD, obtain a detective or investigative type assignment if possible for a few years which will give me the "special exerience" that I need to become an 1811? Any advice would be helpful.

Thank you for your time.
    Look sharp, act sharp, be sharp.

-----------
    Last edited by Street_Cop50; 08-28-2008, 02:26 AM.
    Look sharp, act sharp, be sharp.

Comment

Although a masters degree is desirable, there is no need for experience. ICE, ATF, AFOSI, and Border Partol are known to hire people fresh out of college over experienced LEOs. FBI, DEA, and OIGs are the agencies that only seek educated/experienced candidates, for the most part.

I wish I knew that ahead of time!

Comment

The Border Patrol does not have 1811 series agents.

I know that ICE does but they start at GS-09, meaning some experience or an incredible "judo of words" to explain your experience would be able to get you in.

ICE/FPS has 1811's that start as low as GS-07. They are on USAJOBs as we speak. Those should be pretty easy to qualify for.

GL in your search!

Comment

ICE OI hires at 5/7/9.

I've applied for public and status ICE-FPS 1811 and never heard a thing. I have a degree with SAA and FLEO experience.

Comment

Originally posted by LS1 View Post